Institutional Mechanism

Institutional Structure

             There are two distinct features of the institutional structure for Disaster Management in India. Firstly, the structure is hierarchical and functions at four levels - Centre, State, District and Local. Secondly, it is a multi-stakeholder setup, i.e., the structure draws involvement of various ministries, government departments and administrative bodies. The institutional structure for disaster management in India is in a state of transition after enactment of GOI’s Disaster Management (DM) Act 2005. The National Disaster Management Authority has been established at the GoI level, and the SDMA at state and DDMA at district level are formalized. In addition to this, the National Crisis Management Committee, part of the earlier setup, also functions at the Centre. The nodal ministries, as identified for different disaster types of function under the overall guidance of the Ministry of Home Affairs (Nodal Ministry for disaster management). This makes the stakeholders interact at different levels within the disaster management framework.

Disaster Management Act, 2005

DM Act provides for the effective management of disasters and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. It provides institutional mechanisms for drawing up and monitoring the implementation of the disaster management. The Act also ensures measures by the various wings of the Government for prevention and mitigation of disasters and prompt response to any disaster situation.

             The Act provides for setting up of a National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister; State Disaster Management Authorities (SDMAs) under the Chairmanship of the Chief Minister of the respective states; District Disaster Management Authorities (DDMAs) under the Chairmanship of Deputy Commissioners at the district level. The Act further provides for the constitution of different Executive Committee at national and state levels. Under its aegis, the National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM) for capacity building and National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) for response/rescue purpose have been set up. It also mandates the concerned Ministries and Departments to draw up their own plans in accordance with the National Plan. The Act further contains the provisions for financial mechanisms such as creation of National Disaster Response Fund and State Disaster Response Fund to take up preparedness and mitigation measures and to respond to disasters effectively The Act also provides specific roles to local bodies in disaster management.

State Disaster Management Authority

State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA) has been constituted by the State Govt. under the chairmanship of Hon’ble Chief Minister and Hon’ble Revenue Minister as Vice chairperson. Composition of Karnataka SDMA is as follows.

Sl. No. SDMA Members Designation
1. Chief Minister of Karnataka Chairman, Ex-officio
2. Minister for Revenue Vice-Chairman
3. Minister for Home Member
4. Minister for Agriculture Member
5. Minister for Health and Family Welfare Member
6. Minister for Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Member
7. Minister for Public Works Member
8. Minister for Animal Husbandry Member
9. Minister for Housing Member
10. Minister for Energy Member
11. Chief Secretary (Chairman of SEC) Chief Executive Officer
12 Secretary, Dept. of Revenue(Disaster Management) Member Secretary

Cabinet Sub-Committee on Disaster Management

Cabinet Sub-committee on Disaster Management is formed under the Chairmanship of Revenue Minister. The Cabinet Sub-Committee meets regularly to take stock of situation especially drought situation gives necessary guidance and directions. The composition of SEC is as follows:

Sl. No Cab. Sub-Committee Members Destination
1. Minister for Revenue Chairman
2. Minister for Law and Parliamentary affairs Member
3. Minister for Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Member
4. Minister for Horticulture and Agriculture Marketing Member
5. Minister for Co-operation and Sugar Member
6. Minister for Agriculture Member
7. Minister for Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs Member
8. Minister for Minor Irrigation Member

State Executive Committee

State Executive Committee (SEC): has been constituted under the chairmanship of Chief Secretary. SEC has the responsibility for coordinating and monitoring the implementation of the National Policy, the National Plan and the State Plan as provided under section 22 of the Act. The composition of SEC is as follows:

Sl. No SEC Members Designation
1 Chief Secretary to Government of Karnataka Chairperson, Ex-officio
2 Addl. Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary to the Government, Home Department Member
3 Principal Secretary/Secretary to the Government, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Department Member
4 Principal Secretary/Secretary to the Government, Agriculture Department Member
5 Director General of ATI Member
6 Director KSNDMC Member
7 Secretary to the Government, Revenue Department (Disaster Management) Member Secretary
8 Director General of Police and Director General of Fire and Emergency Services, Home Guards, and Civil Defence Permanent Invitee

             State Disaster Response Force (SDRF): Karnataka is raising 4 companies of SDRF. SDRF is a hybrid force which consists of personnel from state police, reserve police, and fire and emergency personnel. This force is raised exclusively for rescue and relief operations in times of disasters.